I did it. I made the best chicken ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by Rainbow Bobbins

While cruising Epicurious for the easiest recipe involving chicken with a four-fork rating I stumbled upon “My favorite Simple Roast Chicken” a recipe by Thomas Keller. It turns out Thomas is a big shot chef at French Laundry and even has his own Wiki entry. This recipe definitely has the Epicurious seal of approval with over 156 reviews stating 96% would make the chicken again – but what sold me was that the recipe has 6 ingredients including salt, pepper and chicken and the remaining three ingredients are optional – plus making it requires only one pan. SOLD, sign me up – baby we eat’n chicken tonight (and this aint no popeyes). I went to Trader Joes (Eerily, always populated with good looking people) and sprung for the $11 4.45lb Organic chicken. Bee-gok! The injected, hovelled and hormone-laden chickies go for about half the price. Free Range, Organic – my chicken ran in open meadows, ate sprouted grains and TASTED DAMN GOOD coming out of my oven. I was shocked, and let me tell you why.
I am new to this cooking thing so I expect recipes to be complicated. As thebrowns2 noted on epicurious, “The hardest part of making this was looking up info on how to truss a bird.” I had to google this as well, Oh, I get it – you tie its legs together. After that Thomas instructs us to dry the bird off with some paper towels and get the oven nice and hot at 450 degrees. Sprinkle that bird with some salt and pepper and pop it in the oven. Then, nada. None of that basting stuff I’d seen relatives do at thanksgiving. Keller has this whole “keep the chicken dry” approach – I don’t know the workings behind the theory but he has discovered that non-basted chicken = juicy, juicy chickies. You take it out an hour later and you have SOME OF THE BEST CHICKEN I HAVE EVER HAD. Fans of this recipe have left some helpful comments on Epicurious – I guess a handful of them experience super-smoky kitchens. One remedy proposed was to line the bottom of the pan with potatoes which I did because, well, I like potatoes. The POTATOES TURNED OUT BOMB as well (that means good). Cause not only is the chicken juicy but its juice is tasty and potatoes seem to soak up juice quite well. My parting words for this blog entry are that this chicken was really really really good. And I feel very accomplished for cooking something so yum. Yum. This is my third delicious dish – I’m on a roll.
Ps. I don’t have pictures ‘cause when I took it out of the oven I was too excited to eat it. But I am making it again so I’ll add photos soon

One 2- to 3-pound farm-raised chicken
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 teaspoons minced thyme (optional)

Unsalted butter
Dijon mustard

Preheat over to 450F. Rinse the chicken with water and dry it off inside and out with paper towels. Sprinkle about a tablespoon of salt all over the chicken and pepper to taste. Show the chicken whose its daddy by trussing it with twine. Cut some potatoes and line the bottom of the pan if you wish. Place chicken in roasting pan and put it in oven for 50-60 min. Take the bird out and let it rest on a plate for 15 minutes. Now you can throw some thyme in the juice and baste it if you want. Thomas throws the mustard and butter in there as a dip or spread.

