The Chapel Pub

by Rainbow Bobbins

The Chapel Pub
430 N. Killingsworth St.
Portland, OR 97217
Chapel Pub Outside
My goodness, when I started this blog earlier this month I really had no intention of adding restaurant reviews mainly because I rarely go out to eat. But for some reason I’ve been out to eat a lot this month. D ‘n I’ve been like Annie and Daddy Warbucks – hitting up food joints all over town – not just the 7-11 on the corner. Because financially, this is not sustainable, I will be returning to homemade recipes soon. Until then I will tell you about how we popped into the new McMenamims Chapel Pub in Northeast Portland to split a burger and have a beer. This time the McMenamims franchise has taken over an old Chapel built in 1932. It’s a pretty brick structure that they have turned into a cozy hangout with several nooks anchored by a large rectangular wooden bar.
Stove

Because the day was quite cold D ‘n I opted for the room surrounded by windows and featuring burley old wood burning stove. Lovely. We ordered a burger with mushrooms and bacon and some beer which I think they brew themselves. Sorry, not a beer expert. The burger was good here but I had a burger at their restaurant by PSU and it tasted and reeked of cheap meat or old oil. We played scrabble and came up with only 1 word more than four letters long. The food is good – nothing extraordinary – just solid pub fare. They do have a happy hour at the standard time along with a late night happy hour from 10-12pm during the week where you can get tacos for and spinach dip with bread for $3 a pop. The atmosphere is nice – particularly if you grab a table on a cold night next to the wood burning stove. The Bar
burger

