Summer Goodies – Order in

by Rainbow Bobbins

I just placed my summer plant order with Territorial Seed Company for the following goodies:

Here is what I got:

Sweet Basil

Bonito Ojo Tomato This is a early maturing variety. From TSC website: “Large, determinate (bush rather than vine) plants produce 2 1/2 inch round, thin-skinned, juicy, red fruit on trusses of 7-9.”

Chocolate Cherry Tomato

Dusky Eggplant – I am very fond of this eggplant.  It performed very well in the short-seasoned, poor summer that we had in the Pacific Northwest last year.  I had several lovely eggplants on one plant.  This year I ordered two Duskys to keep me in baba ganoush for the summer

Oregon Cherry Tomato – I grew these last year and was very happy with the results. Small, tasty cherry tomatos.  Last year was not a good year for tomatos as it was a cool summer.  This variety managed to produce two decent crops of tasty little gems.

Siletz Tomato – This is a new one for me. These are parthenocarpic (seedless) and bred to develop early in western Oregon’s climate.

Twinkle Eggplant – This is a new one for me. Small little orbs of eggplant. Yum.

I should get these plants in late May and get them in the ground by June 1.  Hope its warm by then.  I will keep the blog updated.  Pictures coming soon.  I just found my camera!

