Aquarium update

by Rainbow Bobbins

Last post I wrote about setting up my ‘new’ 45 gallon tank that I purchased off of Craigslist. Buying used tanks is a little risky and I feel I was a bit mislead in my purchase. The guy claimed the light set up would support plant growth: “totally – this light is meant for it”. Not true. He also failed to disclose that the gravel included with the tank and which I reused after adding a layer of growing substrate is infested with snails. Yuck. So tank set up is halted and even back tracking. I pulled out all of the plants I had planted and tossed them. No need to feed these snails if I’m trying to get rid of them. Next, I have been hand picking snails out of the tank – about 15 per day. It seems to be working. I don’t mind a couple snails here or there – they can help clean the bottom of the tank by eating decaying plant matter but I don’t want to start my tank with an infestation. I am eager to get the tank set up – it looks unattractive and strange in the living room with no life in it (aside from snails). I think I will bite the bullet and go all out for a Coralife light for this tank. Because it is a tall tank it will need a powerful light to support plant growth. That means buying a new hood to accommodate the Coralife which tends to be a bit wide. To be really successful with the plants I will need to do a CO2 set up. Not sure if I feel up to the DIY – I’ve heard some funky stories of splattered, yeasty disasters. I will do some research and look into my CO2 options – suggestions and advice are welcome. Lastly, I would like to purchase nice wood features for my tank. Something that would have an impact in a tall 45 gallon. In retrospect I think I would not have been so hasty and waited for craigslist to turn up a wide rather than tall 45 gallon which is better(?) for a planted tank and easier to maintain (no wet sleeves, easy access for planting). Here is my revised aquarium todo list:

*Coralife light

*Work on making tank snail free

*Purchase cool wood feature

*Get lots o plants

*Figure out C02 set up

*Get fish – Fun!

