Tour de Fresno: Margaret Hudson’s Studio

by Rainbow Bobbins

Tucked away on fireplace mantels, bookshelfs, top of entertainment centers and gardens of Fresno’s burbs it is likely you will find a small clay smiling animal figurine that appears to be born out of the Craftastic 70s. This, my friends is the work of Margaret Hudson. I have amazing memories of visiting her studio as a child and being encouraged to play with dirt. It was lovely. The figurines are a source of a long running inside joke with some of my sistas of the valley. I won’t go into it here but if you want a piece of Fresnocana you can purchase a clay quail for $10. I did. Yet another sign that I am getting old and sentimental. Margaret’s studios are open to the public. Ma and I went on our Tour de Fresno and here are a couple of shots:

Margaret Hudson - Earth Art Studio Garden

Margaret Hudson - Earth Art Studio Garden

Margaret Hudson - Earth Arts Studio Workshop

Margaret Hudson - Earth Arts Studio Workshop

