Roadtrip: Hearst Castle

by Rainbow Bobbins

Looking to escape the Fresno heat, we headed to the coast to Cambria and stopped by Hearst Castle. I’ve driven past this place tons o times — I’m glad I finally stopped to go on a tour. This place is a tourist beacon and runs like clockwork. The house is so over the top ornate but seems pretty lonely to actually live in. But I tell you what, that Mr. Hearst had great taste in pools. Its almost worth being arrested just to go for a dip. Pics below:

Hearst Castle

Hearst Castle

Jewel box bedroom in the bell tower - not a place you want to wake up with a hangover

Jewel box bedroom in the bell tower - not a place you want to wake up with a hangover

Close up of the carved wooden walls/windows that make up the jewel box room

Close up of the carved wooden walls/windows that make up the jewel box room

This was my favorite painting i saw on the tour -Jean-Léon Gérôme, "Bonaparte Before the Sphinx".  This is a repro - the org painting is on tour

This was my favorite painting i saw on the tour -Jean-Léon Gérôme, "Bonaparte Before the Sphinx". This is a repro - the org painting is on tour

Holy mother of pool

Holy mother of pool

He kept this pool around for rainy days and tricked it out with gold leaf tiles to boot

He kept this pool around for rainy days and tricked it out with gold leaf tiles to boot

Will this be the light I see at the end of my tunnel? Cannon Balllllllllls!

Will this be the light I see at the end of my tunnel? Cannon Balllllllllls!

