Road Trip > Northeast(ish) New Mexico

by Rainbow Bobbins

Last week I flew to New Mexico, rented a car and drove around Albuquerque, Santa Fe and Taos with a few small pueblos and towns along the way. Here is the itinerary:
Day One: Arrive in Albuquerque. Yum-o lunch at Golden Crown Panaderia where they are known for their jalapeno cheese bread and bizcochito cookies. Up the Sandia Park mountain for the views. Stayed at the peaceful Old Town Bed and Breakfast. Dinner at the large and lovely El Pinto.
Day Two: On the road to Santa Fe via the Turquoise Trail. Stopped in Tinkertown for oddities, picked up an antique turquoise ring in Madrid (oh no, broke the New Mexico jewelry seal…this will throw my travel budget way off). Arrive in Santa Fe – beautiful dinner at Susan and Don’s Adobe Revival home, relaxing stay at the Bobcat Inn
Day Three: Excellent breakfast on the sunny patio of the Bobcat Inn. Checked out the Plaza area around Santa Fe including the Georgia O’Keefe Museum, street artists, Loretto Chapel and damn it, more jewelry. Lunch at the charming, and local-feeling Tune Up Café. Slipped off to a cloud of bliss provided by 10,000 Waves spa – got soaked, mashed and scrubbed…ahhhhh. Drove up to the Santa Fe National Forest to watch the sun set. Back in Santa Fe I munched on que rico fish tacos and a margarita at Coyote Café then back to the Bobcat B&B for some twisted light reading: Hunger Games.
Day Four: In the morning I explored Santa Fe’s International Folk Art Museum then stopped at Act 2 thrift store and bought a handmade silver and beaded arrow pendant (oh no). Did a quick streak through Canyon Road where all the schmanzy galleries are. Hit the high road to Taos taking time to stop at many spots along the way including Chimayo and Las Truchas. Stopped at Ortiz Gallery – bought a silver ring and a big honking carved silver bracelet. What.is.wrong.with.me? I was possessed. The ‘high road’ drive is gorgeous – amazing mountain ranges, graveyard, churches, artisans along the route. Once I arrived in Taos I checked in to Casa Europa where Joe and Lisa had a slice of light and sweet tres leche cake waiting. I then treated myself to dinner at a magical little spot: The Love Apple. Early to bed with a book (Hunger Games, book 2).
Day Five: Met up with Los Rios River Runners where Bruce led us down the Rio Grande race course first in a raft then in a kayak – which I managed to fall out of and have my ass dragged across every rock for a quarter mile. Lisa and Joe had a German Chocolate torte waiting when I returned to Casa Europa.
Day Six: Up at 5:30 – Ed of Pueblo Balloon picked up in his hot air balloon rig – we headed to the rim of the Rio Grande, blew up the balloon, float up, over and into the Rio Grande gorge. It.Was.Awesome. After the float I checked out the Earth Ship green building development and the Millicent Rogers Museum then slowly headed south to Albuquerque where I squeezed in just enough time to cruise the Old Route 66 taking pictures of the old roadside motel signs before catching my flight home.
Amazing week. If I had more time I would have spent time checking out music at the Taos Plaza, visited Taos Pueblo (very bummed about missing this but it was closed down for a funeral), would like to have seen Bandelier National Monument, Mountain Biked on Sandia Peak, check out the low riders in Espanola, spend more time on Santa Fe’s Museum Hill, camp in the Santa Fe National Forest and many other things (not to mention explore other parts of New Mexico) – next trip!

More pictures and poorly written narrative to come