Garden Fever

by Rainbow Bobbins

Garden Fever…I have it bad. Symptoms include stalking garden blogs, scouting nurseries, premature plantings, over zealous pruning and making of elaborate charts and garden maps. The cure: killing plants, chopping off their limbs, tearing them out by the roots. All in an effort for a peaceful, tranquil yard. Here are some updates from my latest yard rampage:

Target: Patch of grass under Forsythia
Goal: Remove grass and dedicate bed to poppies and dahlias

Quite a while ago I started to remove that patch of grass under the Forsythia

A while ago I started to remove that patch of grass under the Forsythia

It is gone

It is gone

Goal: Relocate 4 large, beautiful ferns from around the yard to the bare space under the fir tree on the left side of the yard:

No plants

No plants

Yes Plants! Four ferns relocated. I will be filling them in with hostas and other shade lovers. Also, I think there is some trillium that will start to emerge.

Yes Plants! Four ferns relocated. I will be filling them in with hostas and other shade lovers. Also, I think there is some trillium that will start to emerge.

Goal: Remove large, lovely Japonica Fatsia in order to clear the bed for bamboo. This is actually a kind of heart breaking process. The plant and the grouping with an old tree stump is lovely. However, seeing our constantly-outside-smoking neighbors is not lovely. The plants had to go in favor of something that could give us some privacy:

RIP Japonica Fatsia

RIP Japonica Fatsia

Hello muddy hole. I have tried to save some of the plant for relocation. Also, you can see one of the ferns that was relocated.

Hello muddy hole. I have tried to save some of the plant for relocation. Also, you can see two of the ferns that were relocated.

Now for the growing side:

My master pottery skills produced face pot V.2 (on the right) looking pale

My master pottery skills produced face pot V.2 (on the right) looking pale

Now with a nice mossy patina and emerging tulips

Now with a nice mossy patina and emerging tulips

And there is a vegetable garden to be planted and tended:

I didn't get a shot of the garden bed but it is approx 35'x20'. These were my plans - they have changed (a bit)

I didn’t get a shot of the garden bed but it is approx 35’x20′. These were my plans – they have changed (a bit)

Back to digging in the dirt!

Back to digging in the dirt!

Not much progress but I am enjoying the process.

 

 

 

 

