Yard update > more plant hacking

by Rainbow Bobbins

Some quick updates from around the yard:

IMG_0939

Above are the plants I got off of Craigslist. From the left a small fern, brigitta blueberry, Earliblue blueberry, Penstemon, 3 mystery hostas – all for $30. Not sure about those hostas…I planted them but there where no crowns. Just little roots. I don’t have much experience with hostas so I guess I will have to wait and see.

IMG_0940

Here is the veggie garden. Planting activity will pick up in mid April. Right now it has two rows of garlic, snap and sweet peas, grapes and blueberries. The next up is an espaliered apple tree (if I can figure out how to get it home in my car) and potatoes. I’m trying out straw between the rows for weed abatement and for clean paths between crops. I’ve seen it in other gardens but am interested in hearing about pros/cons. It rains so much here that it would be nice to walk on something other than mud.

IMG_0941Here is where I got my hack on. I really love chopping things down in the garden. This is an old butterfly bush that was over 12ft tall. I read that you can give these guys a pretty hard prune as they like to flower on new growth. I hope that is right. I also just learned they are on the invasive plant list…The yard has three of them. Hmm…I will give them a season to see how I like them but they will eventually get replaced given their noxious weed status (maybe with a seedless?). I could see a pretty maple here. I will report back on this pruning experiment.

