PDX Stroll > Washington Park to Farmer’s Market

by Rainbow Bobbins

DSCN7316

Mt. St. Helens from the lookout at Washington Park

When I am too lazy or too short on time for a proper hike my favorite local stroll involves taking the MAX to Washington Park  – heading up the hill past the zoo to the mountain lookout then winding down via the magnolia trail through the Portland Rose Garden

The magnolias are just getting ready to burst. I will have to come back during the week

The magnolias are just getting ready to burst. I will have to come back during the week

Along the wildwood trail snaking down the hill towards the Rose Test Garden and city center

Along the wildwood trail snaking down the hill towards the Rose Test Garden and city center

Here is a lovely fruit tree next to the Japanese Gardens at the end of the Wildwood Trail just before the Rose Garden as you head down the hill

Here is a lovely fruit tree next to the Japanese Gardens at the end of the Wildwood Trail just before the Rose Garden as you head down the hill

From there it is on to SW Park Place where I zag right over to SW Ardmore Ave and left to SW Kings Place (a secret euro-looking ally way) then take an even sneakier old footpath down to Goose Hollow Inn for a beer or brunch on the patio.

This house on King's Ct. has the coolest bamboo

This house on King’s Ct. has the coolest bamboo

then head down to the Park blocks for Saturday Farmer’s Market at Portland State University. I picked up some purple carrots and arugula. I passed this building while walking down Jefferson:

This is the KGW building built around 1964. I love its shape. I think it was built by Fred Bassetti

This is the KGW building built around 1964. I love its shape.                                                             I think it was built by Fred Bassetti

It is a lovely stroll that includes a bit of everything: public transport, pubs, city, a sneaky path, nature, farmers. Back at home I spent the rest of the day in the yard doing some plantings, some spray painting and some bbqing.

Bonsai is leafing out and that face planter got the C3Po treatment with a can of paint

Bonsai is leafing out and that face planter got the C3Po treatment with a can of paint

