Understory

by Rainbow Bobbins

Back in late February the ground under the fir canopy was looking dark and barren. In the past couple of months I relocated four old ferns from around the yard to this space, planted 1 new fern, 6 hostas, 1 heuchera, and last weekend added a Japanese rose (Kerria japonica) . I also had some surprise trillium and dicentra eximia or wild bleeding heart (?) pop up.
Here is a before and after:

Photo taken in late Feb. 2013

Photo taken in late Feb. 2013

April 2013 with new plantings

April 2013 with new plantings

Not too dramatic as many of the new hostas are small and the ferns got a major chopping/trama when they were transplanted so they are not looking robust. But I can picture (especially after searching google images for ‘hosta garden’)  what it will look like in a couple of years and it will be lovely! Here is another angle:

bleeding heart on the left and hard to see hostas and new fern on right

bleeding heart on the left and hard to see hostas and tiny new fern on right

DSCN7582

The lone heuchera. I forget the name of this one but the color is a nice contrast and lightens up the space – I have my eye on more of these babies.

The japanese rose - these get to be 4-5ft and the yellow puffs will add some happy color to the understory

The blurry japanese rose – these get to be 4-5ft and the yellow puffs will add some happy color to the understory

The ferns have had a rough go of it. One has new fronds forming, one is holding up and the other two are flailing. Go ferns!

The ferns have had a rough go of it. One has new fronds forming, one is holding up and the other two are flailing. This one is flailing. I think they will live. Go ferns!

One of the hostas. This one I got off craigslist and I don't know why but I am still amazed that it is growing. And so pretty.

One of the hostas. This one I got off craigslist and I don’t know why but I am still amazed that it is growing. And so pretty.

I’ll do another before and after in a years time. It has been fun to explore shade-lovers. My yard has tons of shade so more research and experimental plantings to come.

 

 

 

 

