A love of masks

by Rainbow Bobbins

PHYLLIS GALEMBO MASKEGorgeous photos from Phyllis Galembo: Maske Her book documents costumes and traditions of masquerade in Africa and Haiti.

Mexican MasksFrom Donald Cordry’s Mexican Masks – a cultural history of the mask

I’ve taken beginning ceramics classes a couple of times and have started a little ugly mask collection (see below). My goal is to have a whole wall full of these creations. They are going in the basement office where no one has to lock eyes with them. The next beginner ceramics class starts in a month and I’m looking at masks from Gabon, Japan and Mexico for inspiration.

DSCN8138The cool looking one on the top right is from Chris Paulsen(?) that I go at Portland Saturday Market. He also sells his stuff on Etsy at 3sevens. One day I would love to expand the collection with masks from all over. Also on my wish list is to visit the The Rafael Coronel Museum in Mexico to see his mask collection. My future house will look something like this:

maskroomTim Street-Porter for Elledecor.com

Work in progress. If you get a chance pick up one of Galembo’s books. Lovely work.

