Dye/Quilt Experiments

by Rainbow Bobbins

DSCN8762Dye time! Using Rit powder dye in teal, I colored fabric strips and ended up with shades from dark to light  by diluting the dye bath in batches. My goal is to end up with geometric “modern” quilt inspired awesome creations like these. The plan of action was…no plan. I just started sewing strips together crookedly:

DSCN8767Then cut them up and sewed them back together. It did not achieve the clean, mod look I was going for…oh well. Maybe I need a plan or pattern? Learning the ropes here. Eventually my teal fabric hodgepodge will be sewn between dark gray fabric panels. This gives an idea of how it is shaping up:

DSCN8778hmmm….it would be good to know how to sew a straight, consistent stitch. I have no idea what I’m doing but I like playing with colors. Quilting is good for that.

