SF Botanical Garden > these might work

by Rainbow Bobbins

DSCN9050While picking up plant inspiration around San Francisco I visited the SF Botanical Garden. These plants spotted at the gardens might make good additions to the PDX yard – I think they are zone-appropriate. I have planted Astilbe in my yard but they look nowhere near as healthy and pretty as the purple variety above. Below is my SFBG-PDX yard wish list:

DSCN8980Acanthus mollis – Bear’s Breeches. I see these all over town (looking healthier)

DSCN9026Phormium ‘cream delight’ – These guys stood out in a crowd.

DSCN9075This pic is sideways but wouldn’t this Loropetalum chinenseBurgundy‘ look good with my Creamy Delight (wait, what?) from above? Apparently these Loropetalums come in some dwarf varieties. Does this plant have a common name? I hate trying to pronounce the names of certain plants at the plant store. Me: I want a alsdjfdsasldjf  Them: A wha…oh, you mean a fern?

DSCN9080These looked happy. Geranium “Rozanne”

DSCN8982Young, handsome Hebe Wiri. I need to learn more about these Hebes. Seems like there is a lot of variety. In mythology Hebe was the goddess of youth and cup holder to the gods – wiki, you so smart.

DSCN9018This Salvia confertiflora- Red Velvet Sage stood out in the garden. Great hues of green and red. Grows to 4x4ft according to one website.

DSCN9034Dichroa Febrifuga – blue evergreen hydrangea. What a pretty, understated hydreandea. I see this in the backyard near the fir trees.

So that’s the run down of future yard plants based on my visit to SF Botanical Gardens. I have a lot of sod to remove before these plants join the yard — I’ll probably be back to the gardens for more inspiration before then. What a great place to relax!

