Vegetable Garden > Progress Report

by Rainbow Bobbins

DSCN9144This week in the garden:

Harvesting: the last of the potatoes, chard, herbs, lemon cucumbers, green cucumbers, stunted carrots and tomatoes.
Planting:  Still have not put in the ‘fall’ planting…maybe this weekend? Is it getting too late for more spinach, kale, winter cabbage, ect?
Growing: tomatoes, green beans, potatoes, lettuce, spinach, grapes, blueberries, zucchini, pumpkins, cucumbers, green beans, chard, herbs of all sorts
Gave up on: The pumpkins…NOOOOOOOO! One got soggy, the other got pecked at by crows. Maybe they will rally for a comeback?

The garden is in bad shape. I returned from my trip to California to discover my lover had not watered the darn garden. What in the What?! Geez, and I thought I had black thumb. Quick bitch session: I lost most of the cucumbers, the fothergilla, a rose, a bonsai tree, the green beans were wonky and I think the lack of water messed up the pumpkins. On the other hand, the zucchini went gang busters under the no-water regime. Note to self: use automatic sprinkler vs. boyfriend while traveling. Thankfully, the tomato bushes are doing just fine despite some new yellow leaves:

DSCN9127

DSCN9128Yum-o

DSCN9132Its looking like the dog days of summer in the garden. Back lit chard, leaning and fading sunflowers, flowering chives.

DSCN9122Poor garden looks tired and thirsty. I’ll give it some love and new seeds this week.

