Road Trip > 92 to Half Moon Bay

by Rainbow Bobbins

orchidsIt makes me happy when I go to the rental car counter and they are out of the bottom of the line economy cars so they have to give you a mini cooper with a sun roof for the same low price. This is the best way to start a mini California coast road trip. I kicked off the trip by taking hwy 92 from SF Airport to Half Moon Bay, CA. This stretch of road is a destination in itself  if you love plants and pumpkins. There are a handful of nurseries and garden pottery/sculpture stores…If I was driving back home vs. flying my car would have been packed. On the hit list:

Bongrad’s Tree scapes, the famous Half Moon Bay Nursery, Yerba Buena Nursery specializing in California Natives,  E Plant World – a orchid wholesaler and Repettos Greenhouse

I didn’t do a great job of taking pictures (aside from going overboard on the gorgeous orchids above) but here are a few from along the route:

IMG_1829

The Dinosaurs of Spanish Town

IMG_1788

IMG_1799

IMG_1786A nice start to a road trip for a gal who likes checking out shrubs.

 

